In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He [Jesus Christ -Yeshua] was in the beginning with God.


The Book of Deuteronomy (c. 1405 BC) is the fifth of the five books known as the Law in the Holy Bible. In Numbers, God prepares Israel to enter the land promised to the seed of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob. In Deuteronomy, Moses gives three sermons to Israel as they prepare to enter the Promised Land. Deuteronomy covers a one-month period and takes place on the plains of Moab east of Jericho and the Jordan River at the end of the forty-year period of wandering in the wilderness.

Deuteronomy comes from the Greek title for ‘Second Law’. However, there is no second law given by Moses. Rather, Moses reaffirms the original laws and expands on most of them. His three sermons reflect the past, present and future dealings God has with Israel. Since Moses cannot enter the Promised Land, he hands his leadership over to Joshua who will lead in the conquering of Canaan.

In his third sermon, Moses discusses the Promised Land covenant, known as the Palestinian Covenant. He explains the immediate conditional covenant, and prophesizes the future unconditional covenant. Part of the Palestinian covenant was fulfilled more than 3,300 years later as we are now witnessing God’s gathering of the scattered people of Israel back to the land He promised them, this time without conditions. This is one of many fulfillments of Biblical prophesies - proof that the Holy Bible is the true Word of God.

The Three Sermons of Moses:

Deuteronomy 1-4: The Past: Moses reminds the Israelites what God has done for them

Deuteronomy 4-26: The Present: God’s expectations for Israel in the Promised Land

Deuteronomy 27-34: The Future: God's instructions; The Palestinian Covenant